Furman University home page
ENG 350: American Novel from Its Beginnings to World War I - Shackelford: Articles
Best Bets for English and Literary Studies Articles
These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles for English and literary studies.
- MLA BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- ProQuest One LiteratureProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text. - Literature Resource CenterProvides access to Biography, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to the Scribner Writer's Series and Twayne World, Twayne US, and Twayne English Authors.
- Literary IndexGale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source. Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to 40 of our literary series. These series contain complete Biography on authors and critical essays on their writings. Titles Indexed.
Finding the Full-Text
Need help getting the full-text of an article? Follow the options and instructions below to learn how to access articles online, in-print, and request them from other libraries.
Option 1: Full Text
Look for the purple "FUllText?" button next to an article record in the databases. If Furman has access to that article, even if it's not in that specific database, this button will connect you with the full-text of that article.
Option 2: Known Item Finder
Know the citation information for the resources you need? Fill in the details on the Known Item Finder to see if we have online access through the Furman University Libraries or if you need to make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Option 3: Google Scholar
Sometimes articles are freely available on Google Scholar, but you can also setup Library Links in your Google Scholar Account to link out to our "FUll Text?" finder. Watch this quick instructional video on Setting Up Furman FUll Text Links in Google Scholar.
Combined Search
Searches America: History and Life, MLA, and the ATLA Religion Index
Improve Your Search Strategy
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below. Total runtimes are indicated by parentheses.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
- Field SearchingUse the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
- Subject HeadingsUse subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)