Furman University home page
Loading...
EDRD 747: Children's Literature Survey: Children's Lit Resources
Library Catalog - Special Searches
Databases for Children's Lit Info
- Picture Books DatabaseThe Picture Books Database brings picture books and readers together, helping educators find the best picture books for their intended audience. The service combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites. The database tracks hard to find data about picture books, eliminating the need to consult multiple reference books or websites.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's LiteratureDocuments and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field. Includes brief Biography of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
- Kids InfoBitsDesigned especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, reference content and magazines for elementary students.
- Primary SearchContains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
- 100 most popular picture book authors and illustrators: biographical sketches and bibliographyElectronic book containing biographical sketches and a comprehensive bibliography.
- The Coretta Scott King Awards BookElectronic book covering the Coretta Scott King Awards recipients from 1970-1999
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. Check here for reviews of picture books.
Web sources
- Caldecott MedalThe Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by ALSC to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
- Early Multicultural Children's Books: Resources Guide from MSU LibrariesMore award lists, websites, articles, and stories.
Print Reference Sources on Children's Books
A to Zoo: Subject access to children's picture books Supplement to 7th Ed.Call Number: Reference Collection Z 1037 .L715 2006Provides an excellent subject index to picture books for young children. Compendium published in 2008.
Best Books for ChildrenCall Number: Reference Coll Z1037 .G48 2010Publication Date: 2010-01-0125,000 of the best fiction and nonfiction for children.
Children's books : awards & prizes by Call Number: Reference Coll PN1009.A1 C49 2005ISBN: 0933633076Children's core collection
Call Number: Reference Coll PN1009.A1 C5
The children's literature dictionary : definitions, resources, and learning activities by Call Number: Reference Coll PN1008.5 .L38 2002ISBN: 1555704247
The Continuum encyclopedia of children's literature by Call Number: Reference Coll PN1008.5 .C66 2001
International companion encyclopedia of children's literature by Call Number: Reference Coll PN1008.5 .I57 2004ISBN: 0415290546
