Furman University home page
Loading...
ECN-331 Empirical Analysis: Data
General Datasets
- DATA.GOVThe home of the US Government's open data.
- Awesome Public DatasetsA diverse range of open datasets available for download.
Data - Humanities
- DANSDANS is the Dutch national centre of expertise and repository for research data. We help researchers make their data available for reuse. This allows researchers to use the data for new research and makes published research verifiable and reproducible. DANS is one of the leading repositories in Europe.
- Humanities DataHumanitiesdata.com seeks to help collect and disseminate information about publicly available data of particular interest to digital humanities and humanities computing. It contains only open data sets.
- Journal of Open Humanities DataThe Journal of Open Humanities Data (JOHD) aims to be a key part of a thriving community of scholars sharing humanities data. The journal features peer reviewed publications describing humanities research objects or techniques with high potential for reuse. Humanities subjects of interest to JOHD include, but are not limited to Art History, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Modern Languages, Music and musicology, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and more.
- World-Historical DataverseThe World-Historical Dataverse Project is the University of Pittsburgh affiliate of a wider project to address the need for comprehensive historical data on the human experience at the global level. This project is intended to the contribute to creation of a comprehensive set of data on social-scientific, health, and environmental data for the world as a whole and for its constituent regions and localities, for the past four or five centuries.
- Getty Provenance IndexThese open datasets document the art trade, including archival inventories, sales catalogs, dealer stock books, collectors' files, payments to artists, and public collections.
- Bechdel Test - Film DatasetThe Bechdel Test applied to 1,793 films released from 1990 to 2013 to examine the relationship between the prominence of women in a film and that film’s budget and gross profits.
Data - Social Sciences
- ICPSR DirectData sets from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Most data for retrospective data sets is also available via CD-ROM.
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Among other documents Social Explorer includes the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 and Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
- City-DataBy collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find the data you're looking for on City-Data.com.
- Community CommonsMain topics are organized into six Channels that capture the breadth and depth of community issues by highlighting stories, maps, and data that speak to the topic.Demographics, Economy, Education, Environment, Equity, Food and Health.
- Pew Research Center DatasetsThe Pew Research Center's Internet Project is pleased to offer scholars access to raw data sets from our research. All uses of this data should reference the Pew Research Center as the source of the data and acknowledge that the Pew Research bears no responsibility for interpretations presented or conclusions reached based on analysis of the data.
- Kaggle DatasetsSearch a broad range of Open Access datasets.
- National Bureau of Economic Research(NBER)Current Population Survey, Public Use Data Archive, and more
- Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey(NHANES)The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
- IPUMS USAU.S. CENSUS DATA FOR SOCIAL, ECONOMIC,
AND HEALTH RESEARCH - Consumer Expenditure SurveyThe Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public-use microdata files.
- Uniform Crime ReportingThe FBI has gathered crime statistics from law enforcement agencies across the nation that have voluntarily participated in the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program since 1930. These data have been published each year, and since 1958, have been available in the publication Crime in the United States (CIUS). As a supplement to CIUS, the FBI, in cooperation with the Bureau of Justice Statistics, provides this site that allows users to build their own customized data tables.
- National Longitudinal SurveysThe National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers.
- Conference BoardIncludes US Consumer Confidence
Data - Sciences
- Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)This portal provides access to a wide range of global data, associated documentation, and visualization and analysis tools, and to the community of experts on global data. Themes include Climate, Conservation, Governance, Hazards, Health, Population, Poverty, and Sustainability.
- Environment Data from The World BankData here cover forests, biodiversity, emissions, and pollution.
- Global Change Master DirectoryThe GCMD holds more than 29,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.
- NOAA National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space. GIS focus.
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. Hosts over 37 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.
- NOAA OneStopNOAA OneStop can be used to search for any NOAA data with a metadata record. It is an interoperable tool designed to explore data from across scientific disciplines, formats, time periods, and locations. OneStop’s wide range of filtering options can pinpoint specific collections or granules that may not be discoverable in other mediums.
- EPA Open DataThis site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
- Data.govData.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.