Furman University home page
Loading...
ECN-331 Empirical Analysis: Find Articles
Best Bets for Economics Articles
These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles in the field of Economics.
Scholarly, or Refereed journals are best represented in these first two resources. Keep in mind that JSTOR, a wonderful storage for articles, does not include the most recent 3-5 years of a Journal's articles. Also it has a poor search and retrieval engine, and almost anything published after 1968 in JSTOR will be found much more easily by searching through EconLit . Click the purple FUlltext button in the results and you will be linked to anything that happens to be in JSTOR.
- EconLitCorresponds to Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, and covers journal articles, dissertations, chapters in books, conference proceedings and entire books.
- Annual Review of EconomicsThe Annual Review of Economics covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics, including economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics, including culture, institutions, social interaction, and networks; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more.
- Business Source UltimateBusiness Source Ultimate contains the full text of periodicals and other sources, including: peer-reviewed journals, trade journals & general business magazines, monographs, country economic reports, industry reports & yearbooks, and market research reports. The database covers a variety of disciplines related to all areas of business.
- Wiley Interscience JournalsIncludes the full text of over 290 subscribed titles from Wiley Interscience. Most subscribed titles go back to 1997.
- Business Insights: EssentialsEnables you to find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
- SpringerLinkSpringerLink is the world's most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, and reference works published by Springer-Verlag.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.
- NBER Working PapersNational Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. NBER researchers report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)This full text, multi-source database provides single-search access to the wide variety of health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full text nursing and allied health journals. All in a single, easy-to-use database, Health Reference Center—Academic integrates the full text of respected nursing, allied health, and medical journals; consumer health magazines; reference books; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; referral information; and topical overviews.
- PAIS InternationalCovers issues in public policy from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
News, Company Info, Industry Reports and Financials
Factiva is the only resource where you can get daily and archived full text Wall Street Journal coverage.
This includes all editions domestically and globally.
- S&P Capital IQContains business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Individual credentials are required to use this resource; first-time users should select "New User?" in the upper right corner and follow the prompts to create an account.
- Business Insights: EssentialsEnables you to find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Improve Your Search
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)