Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC)
The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) is the state agency charged with protecting public health, coastal resources, and the state's land, air and water quality as authorized under multiple state and federal laws.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The EPA was established on December 2, 1970 to consolidate in one agency a variety of federal research, monitoring, standard-setting and enforcement activities to ensure environmental protection. Since its inception, EPA has been working for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
US Geological Survey
As an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, we are dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and the natural world.
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine.
The Arctic Portal provides a comprehensive gateway to the Arctic on the Internet, increases co-operation between both public and private parties across the Arctic and grants exposure to Arctic related information.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
WHOI has been one of the best known and most trusted names in ocean science and exploration.
NOAA Photo Library
The NOAA collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun. Because of this broad base of scientific expertise and the geographic range under which NOAA science and observations are conducted, the NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton.
This site offers basic information on tsunamis and the earthquakes that create them. The site also includes links to in-depth coverage of warning systems, preparing for tsunamis, and hazard assessment. Other useful features include links to event photos, slides, maps, and video/animation.
USGS Tsunamis & Earthquakes
Provides extended information on tsunami-related earthquakes events.
NOAA Ocean Explorer
Introduction to NOAA's ocean-related research programs and educational activities.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Suggested Electronic Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of coastal science
Includes many aspects of the coastal sciences that are only to be found scattered among scientific literature. Being broadly interdisciplinary in its treatment of coasts, the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science features contributions by 245 well known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology and extensive bibliographic listings.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
ESST is a succinct yet authoritative on numerous topics including: green chemistry for industry, water use and recovery, crop production including genetic modification of crops, forestry and fisheries, all types of energy production, mass and personal transportation with fuel modification, power source variation, pollution control and waste disposition, recycle and disposition, urban planning and the built environment, environmental quality, epidemiology and disease prevention, and more.
Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards
The Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards effectively captures and integrates contributions from an international portfolio of almost 300 specialists whose range of expertise addresses over 330 topics pertinent to the field of natural hazards. Clear illustrations and numerous color images enhance the primary aim to communicate and educate. The inclusion of a series of unique classic case study events interspersed throughout the volume provides tangible examples linking concepts, issues, outcomes and solutions.