Furman University home page
Digital Scholarship Projects: Home
- Ancient Art Digital Exhibits
In Fall 2015, the students in the class "Art 230: Ancient Art", taught by Dr. Sarah Archino, each created a digital exhibit on a specific theme. - Bella Tarakhovskaia and Her Binder's Volumes
This digital exhibit contains two binder’s volumes of music collected by Bella Tarakhovskai͡a (1903-1983), a young Jewish woman from Ukraine who lived in Harbin, China. - Birgit Krohn Sheet Music
Three albums of 19th century Norwegian sheet music compiled by Birgit Krohn. The collection was created by Vivian Tompkins (’17), curated by the Music Library, and funded by Summer Scholars. - Coin Collection
A collection of more than 700 coins, the majority of which were created during the Roman Republic and Roman Empire. In addition to the ancient coins, there are also a number of coins which were created in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. These coins are predominately from European kingdoms and Latin American mints.
- Eric Schopler: Founder of TEACCH Autism Program
Psychology professors Erin Hahn and Michelle Horhota led a MayX class to The Cummings Center for the History of Psychology at the University of Akron to create this digital exhibit. - Furman Lake Restoration Project
The Furman Lake is a living laboratory studying the effects of restoration on water quality and ecological integrity. Studies are overseen by faculty in Biology and Earth & Environmental Sciences. - Furman University Oral History Project
Oral histories recorded by Furman faculty and/or students. Most of the recordings highlight the University's rich history. Notable interviewees include Charles Townes, President John E. and Martha Johns, Lillian Brock Flemming, and John Plyler, Jr.
- Music at the Periphery
A collection of European sheet music from the 19th and early 20th century. Countries represented include: Russia, Germany, Norway, and England. - Oral Histories of Colombian Textile Workers in Greenville, SC
Colombian immigrants recount their involvement in the textile industry and their immigration to the US. The collection was created by Dr. Sofia Kerns and her research fellows: Ingrid Ramos, Marina Cox, and Whitney Maness. - Pathways to Diversity
A digital exhibit that tells the story of the integration of four Southern academic institutions: Centre College, Furman University, Rollins College, and Washington & Lee University. The exhibit attempts to foreground the voices of those who forged the way on these campuses. - Secession Era Editorials
Collected and transcribed by Dr. Lloyd Benson and his students, these 1850s political newspaper editorials describe events that led to the American Civil War. Some editorials in this collection contain offensive language and opinions. The views expressed in these editorials do not reflect Furman University’s values or our commitment to embrace meaningful diversity and equality in all of our endeavors. - Untold Journeys: Exploring Furman and Greenville's Connections with Asia
This Digital Humanities project, by Eli Kibler, Eva Kiser, and Kylie Fisher, aims to advance the understanding of the contributions of Asian and Asian American individuals and their families at Furman University and in Greenville. - Visual Anthropology Films
A collection of student films created in Dr. Tami Blumenfield's Visual Anthropology classes taught in 2017 and 2018.
Search the Furman University Scholar Exchange (FUSE)
Contact Us
Interested in creating a digital scholarship project, digital exhibit, or digital humanities collection in the Furman University Scholar Exchange (FUSE)?
Contact us at scholarexchange@furman.edu.