Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video/Audio Digitization Policy:

Video/Audio Digitization Policy

The Digital Collections Center has the equipment to convert physical video/audio materials like VHS, DVDs, and cassette tapes into digital files. When we receive a request to convert physical audio/video materials to digital files, we follow this process:

  • If the material is currently available for purchase in an institutional streaming format (e.g. through Kanopy, Swank, etc.), the Library will attempt to purchase it and make it available through the Library Catalog.
  • If the material is not currently available for purchase in an institutional streaming format, the Digital Collections Center will only legally convert it to a digital file if the Library has written consent from the copyright holder.
  • Exceptions may be made if the digitized film is required for distance education or for meeting student accommodations as defined by the Student Office of Accessibility Resources (SOAR).

Under these exceptions, the Digital Collections Center will:

  1. Work with the Library's Resource Management to ensure the physical copy is part of the Library's collection. If not, it will be purchased.
  2. Digitize the physical copy.
  3. Remove the physical copy from library circulation making it unavailable for other use.
  4. As needed, work with SOAR to ensure accessibility.
  5. Make the digitized copy available via Box. The Box folder will be password protected and the password shared only with the necessary parties. The files will be non-downloadable and limited to the semester in which the class is taught.

 

Note: Digital copies of physical audio/video materials that are produced and/or related to Furman University may be retained in Special Collections and Archives for preservation purposes.

 

 

Digitizing Media

Temporary Video/Audio Digitization Policy (Expires August 12, 2021)

In compliance with the TEACH act, the Libraries are making video/audio resources available remotely to students who are participating in distance education classes.

Faculty may request video resources by using the video request form. The Library will seek to purchase the resource in an institutional streaming format (e.g. using Kanopy, Swank, etc.). If an institutional streaming format is unavailable, the Library will digitize a library-owned physical copy or purchase a new physical copy to digitize. The digitized copy will be uploaded to Box with a Word copy of our copyright statement/usage restrictions to this folder. The folder and its contents will only be available for individual classes; will be password protected; and the content will be non-downloadable. The Box folder will expire on at the end of the current semester.

This is a temporary policy that will expire at the end of Summer Session II in 2021.

Newly purchased videos will be cataloged and the physical copy of the film will be added to the collection once the digital version is no longer available in Box.

Contact Information

We are generally available 9:00am - 4:00pm, Monday through Friday. Please don't hesitate to contact us.

E-mail: digitalcollections@furman.edu

Phone Number: 864-294-3505

What is protected by Copyright?

Copyright protection exists in original works of authorship fixed in any tangible medium of expression. The two key phrases here are "original works" and "fixed". The creativity level required for originality is very low - a "spark" - but is required, no matter how much effort was required to create the work.

Works of authorship include the following categories:

  1. literary works;
  2. musical works, including any accompanying words;
  3. dramatic works, including any accompanying music;
  4. pantomimes and choreographic works;
  5. pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works;
  6. motion pictures and other audiovisual works;
  7. sound recordings; and
  8. architectural works.

Resources