It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. ATLASerials is an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. Users can read articles or research the history of a topic from 1949 to the present. Also covers religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medic
1949 to the present, though not all publications begin in 1949.
H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Indexes "essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. 1985 to the present.
This 2nd edition reflects changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Takes cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Provides a broad-based tool for research in religion, archaeology, anthropology, and Classical, Mediterranean, and Near Eastern History. Includes some full text coverage of Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey, as well as several books.
Not finding enough on your topic? Not finding anything on your topic? Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for?
Brainstorming the different words and phrases used to describe your topic is one the most helpful things you can do to start your research. It gets you really thinking about your topic and the ways it can be approached.
If you're having trouble getting the storm started, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
Quick Search Box for ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
How do I get the full text of an article from a database?
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.
If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FULLText icon will automatically start the search process.
If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
If there is no online option, You will have the option to request a copy - from another library via interlibrary loan, or from our own collections via Scan & Deliver if available . Clicking the "Request a copy" link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.
You can also check the library catalog to see if the article is available in one of the library's print collections, and then go scan or photocopy the article yourself.