Written by some of the world's best-known archaeologists, this two volume set presents a collection of informative, readable, and often witty essays on the lives and work of their famous forebears, colleagues, and teachers. Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists features 58 remarkable biographies written by some of the world's best-known archaeologists. These essays are arranged chronologically and thus constitute a history of archaeology from its beginnings in the Renaissance to the present day. Especially exciting is the coverage of figures little known to readers in the West: Russian, Chinese, and Mexican archaeologists receive their due. Each biography begins with a brief summary of the subject's importance, then goes on to discuss the life and contributions of the biographee, with a focus on his or her role in the development of archaeology as a discipline. Controversy (take, for example, the notorious Schliemann, excavator of Troy) is not swept under the rug. Each essay concludes with a bibliography of primary sources (for people who want to read about the archaeologists' discoveries in their own words) and secondary sources (to see what critics and admirers had to say). Biographies of 58 of the greatest archaeologists written by their world-renown predecessors 46 contributors, all eminent practicing archaeologists Illustrated with rare photographs, drawings, and charts Glossary

The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.

When we think of archaeology, most of us think first of its many spectacular finds: the legendary city of Troy, Tutankhamun's golden tomb, the three-million-year-old footprints at Laetoli, the mile-high city at Machu Picchu, the cave paintings at Lascaux. But as marvelous as these discoveries are, the ultimate goal of archaeology, and of archaeologists, is something far more ambitious. Indeed, it is one of humanity's great quests: to recapture and understand our human past, across vast stretches of time, as it was lived in every corner of the globe. Now, in The Oxford Companion to archaeology, readers have a comprehensive and authoritative overview of this fascinating discipline, in a book that is itself a rare find, a treasure of up-to-date information on virtually every aspect of the field. The range of subjects covered here is breathtaking--everything from the domestication of the camel to Egyptian hieroglyphics to luminescence dating to the Mayan calendar, to Koobi Fora and Olduvai Gorge.

A Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Book. Explore the dynamics of precolonial African life in this comprehensive encyclopedia. An authoritative text with state of the art summaries, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa will prove to be a benchmark volume for the field. Moreover, a bibliography for each article guides readers with further research. With more than 100 articles written by leading scholars, extensive maps, photos, and figures, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa is essential reading for all students, professionals, and avocational readers of African archaeology, history, linguistics, and culture.

The Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology is the first comprehensive reference book on the discovery and recovery of the submerged past. Written by archaeologists and other scientists who have made the discoveries, the encyclopedia's entries describe sites around the world and across time: prehistoric American Indian settlements; submerged Bronze and Iron Age settlements; sunken Phoenician, Greek, and Roman cities and harbors; Viking ship burials; ancient warships and merchant craft in the Mediterranean; warships sunk during atomic bomb tests; and much more. Detailed entries also cover new fields of research in underwater and maritime archaeology, the techniques and tools used by underwater archaeologists, critical issues and the relevant legislation that has been passed, and important institutions and individuals. Overview articles examine work in broader regional, national, and scientific contexts.

Splendid, monumental reference work, authoritative and lavishly illustrated More than 400 distinguished scholars, including archaeologists, art historians, historians, epigraphers, and theologians, have written the 1,455 entries in this monumental encyclopedia--the first comprehensive reference work of its kind. From Aachen to Zurzach, Paul Corby Finney's three-volume masterwork draws on archaeological and epigraphic evidence to offer readers a basic orientation to early Christian architecture, sculpture, painting, mosaic, and portable artifacts created roughly between AD 200 and 600 in Africa, Asia, and Europe. Clear, comprehensive, and richly illustrated, this work will be an essential resource for all those interested in late antique and early Christian art, archaeology, and history.