Furman University home page
Loading...
POL 371: Statistics Home
Senior Seminar
Online United States Statistical Sources
- State and County QuickFacts (US Census Bureau)Quickly find basic statistics about states and counties in the United States.
- Data & Statistics about the U.S. (formerly FedStats)Provides access to official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them. It uses the Internet's powerful linking and searching capabilities to track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsPrincipal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the field of labor economics and statistics. The bureau collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates sensitive economic and statistical data to the American public, Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Data from several National Center for Education Statistics sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.
- United States Economic Census"The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. The Economic Census is conducted every five years, in years ending in '2' and '7.'
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics"Data tables on criminal justice topics from over 100 sources are presented at this indexed and fully searchable site."
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/ - Data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)Access census and survey data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
American FactFinder (AFF) was decommissioned and taken offline on March 31, 2020. Data previously released on AFF are now being released on the U.S. Census Bureau's platform, data.census.gov.
- Guide to U.S. ElectionsPublication Date: 2016
Business and Economic Statistics
- International Financial Statistics Online. International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a source of international statistics on aspects of international and domestic finance. Users can download the data, but in order to use the download function, you need to first sign-in/create a free user account. This source includes current data for the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation. Covers most countries.
- International Studies Compendium. The International Studies Compendium is a comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations. Includes more than 400 entries, enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials.
Statistic Sources
- FedStatsProvides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- Geography & Environment from the U.S. Statistical AbstractThis section presents a variety of information on the physical environment of the United States. The subjects covered are mostly concerned with environmental trends but include related subjects such as land use, water consumption, air pollutant emissions, toxic releases, oil spills, hazardous waste sites, municipal waste and recycling, threatened and endangered wildlife, and the environmental industry.
- S.C. DHEC Data & StatisticsHealth statistics and surveys, vital statistics, and environmental tools for South Carolina.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
- Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher EducationAASHE provides access to their reports and research to Furman-affiliates. Create a personal account using your Furman email address to obtain full-text access.
- Environmental Indicators from the United Nations Statistics DivisonUNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics, maps, and charts on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
- NOAA Ocean and Coastal ToolsReal-time and historical tools and datasets used to measure variance in coastal regions (tides, temperatures, algal blooms, etc.).
Online International Statistical Sources
- World FactbookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (UN Data)"resents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 53 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts." (UN Data)
- Statistics Resource Guide (UNOG Library)"The United Nations and its Specialized Agencies collect and publish a wide variety of statistical information on the topics related to the work of the organization. This guide will help you find resources focusing on statistical information. It provides links to major organizations" (UNRIC)
- World Development IndicatorsProvides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups.
Print Statistical Guides
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: Research Assistance Desk Ready Ref HA202 .P76 2014The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- CIA World FactbookCall Number: Located behind the Research assistance desk (also online)The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the presentCall Number: Ref HA202 .H57 2006 Vol. 1-5
Statistics
South Carolina
- S.C. DHEC Data & StatisticsHealth statistics and surveys, vital statistics, and environmental tools for South Carolina.
United States
- FastStatsFastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.
- CDC Data & Statistics by TopicData and statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention by topic from Aging to Workplace.
- Health, United StatesHealth, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics, including health status, resources, expenditures, and more.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
International
- World Health Organization - Data & StatisticsData and analysis related to mortality, health, sanitation, and more from around the world.
- United Nations Health StatisticsPopulation and demographics related to health from the United Nations.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Historical Statistics
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2022Call Number: Ready Reference HA 202.P76 2022The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878.- Historical Statistics of the United StatesCall Number: Ref HA202 .H57 2006Vol. 1 Population
Vol. 2 Work and Welfare
Vol. 3 Economic Structure and Performance
Vol. 4 Economic Sectors
Vol. 5 Governance and International Relations
Other Statistics
- Pew Statistics on ReligionThe Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world.
- Fuel EconomyMiles per gallon and other statistics from the Environmental Protection Agency
Data Sets
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- ICPSR DirectData sets from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Most data for retrospective data sets is also available via CD-ROM.
Political Statistics
- Presidential elections, 1789-2008 : county, state, and national mapping of election dataCall Number: Ref JK524 .D47 2010
- Guide to U.S. electionsCall Number: [electronic resource]
- Vital statistics on the presidency: George Washington to Barack ObamaCall Number: [electronic resource]
Local Statistics & Figures
- South Carolina Statistical AbstractContains economic, demographic, and social data produced by a variety of state and federal agencies.
- Global Religious LandscapePew Forum on Religion & Public Life/ U.S. Religious Landscape Survey/ Region by Religious Tradition
- Nuclear & Other Electricity Generation in SCA fact sheet detailing information about nuclear power in South Carolina.