Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 216: History of Modern Britain since 1714: Articles

Best Bets for Articles

Finding the Full-Text

Need help getting the full-text of an article?  Follow the options and instructions below to learn how to access articles online, in-print, and request them from other libraries.

Option 1: Full Text

Purple FUll Text button

Look for the purple "FUllText?" button next to an article record in the databases. If Furman has access to that article, even if it's not in that specific database, this button will connect you with the full-text of that article.

Option 2: Known Item Finder

Know the citation information for the resources you need? Fill in the details on the Known Item Finder to see if we have online access through the Furman University Libraries or if you need to make a request through Interlibrary Loan.

Option 3: Google Scholar

Sometimes articles are freely available on Google Scholar, but you can also setup Library Links in your Google Scholar Account to link out to our "FUll Text?" finder. Watch this quick instructional video on Setting Up Furman FUll Text Links in Google Scholar.

Search Tools & Tutorials

Not finding enough on your topic?  Not finding anything on your topic?  Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for?

Brainstorming the different words and phrases used to describe your topic is one the most helpful things you can do to start your research.  It gets you really thinking about your topic and the ways it can be approached.

cc licensed ( BY ) flickr photo shared by andymangold

If you're having trouble getting the storm started, try reading a few encyclopedia articles.  Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there.  Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.

Want to make your searching even better AND faster?  Check out these short videos below.