Skip to main content

How do I: Articles

Articles from a Database

Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.

  • If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF icon or the FUll Text icon.  Clicking on the FUll Text icon will automatically start the search process below looking just for that one article.

full text button

  • If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database.  Often this will take you directly to the article.

Full Text Available Online

**Note: There is often more than one Full Text from . . . link. Any of the links should take you to the article.

  • Some articles - particularly in the sciences and psychology - may be found in a resource called ScienceDirect. If it is, the option to "Request full-text from Get it Now (for students and others without a ScienceDirect account)" will appear. Follow this link and use your Furman email address to complete the request.

Get it Now example

  • If we don't have it online, Interlibrary Loan will get a copy from another library or from our print collection.  Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.

Request a Copy example

Find Full-Text Options


Do you already know the article you are looking for?*:

Journal Title
Article Title
Author (Last name, First name)
ISSN (Print ISSN or Online ISSN)
Date
Volume
Issue
Start Page

*Enter the full journal title (no abbreviations) and as much other information as possible for best results. For all available citation fields, try the full Citation Finder.

Furman Full-Text in Google Scholar

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect icon

Some journals and books are only accessible through ScienceDirect.  While we have access to these materials, it's on an individual basis.

If you are a student and you need the full-text to a journal article or book chapter in ScienceDirect, you can now make a direct request in Get it Now. Just add the citation information to the Known Article Search and select the "Get the full-text from Get it Now" link. Enter your furman email address and a color PDF of the article will sent to you directly, usually within a few hours. Even at night and on weekends!

If you're a faculty member, you can use the Known Article Search as well. If you would like to get a Furman account to ScienceDirect to download your own articles directly, contact Caroline Mills for instructions.