This is the "Home" page of the "Electronic Resource Trials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MAIN LIBRARY HOURS
Loading hours... Loading Animation
  • Catalog
  • Articles
  • Databases
  • eJournals
  • Digital Collections
  • Library Website

Electronic Resource Trials  

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2015 URL: http://libguides.furman.edu/electronicresourcetrials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommend a Trial

Is there an electronic resource that you would like to see the Furman University Libraries trial?  Please click on the link and submit the name of the resource and the URL below. 

 

Tell us what you think...

We would like your feedback about our trials.  After you have tried an electronic resource, please come back and let us know what you think.  Our feedback form is simple, and will take you less than 5 minutes to complete. 

 

Leave us some feedback...

Trial Feedback

1. Which electronic resource did you test / trial? *
2. Was this electronic resource useful?
Very useful
Somewhat useful
Not very useful
Not useful at all
3. I would use this electronic resource for
Classwork / Homework
Personal research
Instruction
4. How likely would you be to recommend this resource to a friend or colleague?
Definitely
Very likely
Maybe
Not very likely
Never
5. What is your university affiliation? *
Faculty member
Staff member
Student

Current Electronic Resources Trials

Furman University Library is hosting the trials listed below. If you have any questions please get in touch with Outreach Services. You may recommend a trial or provide us with feedback using the boxes on the left.

      

    Recently Ended Trials

     

    • 60 Minutes
      The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street Press provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic.
      This trial was available through Tuesday, May 5, 2015.
    • Academic Video Online: Premium
      Academic Video Online: Premium is comprised of over 45,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas, such as anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film and science. Including the full content of collections such as Classical Music in Video, Environmental Studies in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, Meet the Press, and The PBS Video Collection over half the content is only available through Alexander St. Press. Please note that all content is not accessible during the trial.
      This trial was available through June 18, 2015
    • Adam Matthew: Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1966
      Addressing the period 1948-1966, this archival database provides comprehensive coverage of issues related to apartheid in South Africa including :

      - The National Party's policy of racial segregation
      - Analysis and reactions to Apartheid & events in S. Africa
      - Nelson Mandela - Arrests and Trials
      - Sharpeville Massacre
      - Political prisoners and refugees
      - Treason and Rivonia trials
      - Detailed coverage of ANC leaders & imprisonment
      - South Africa's withdrawal from the Commonwealth

      These formerly restricted documents sourced from The National Archives UK provide detail with in-depth analysis of events, international reaction and policy dilemmas, accompanied by numerous first-hand accounts and reports.
      Please note that the PDF download options are not available during trials.
      This trial was available through November 12, 2014.
    • Alexander Street Press: Classical Scores Library: Volumes I, II and III
      Classical Scores Library is designed to support teaching and research in classical music. It provides online access to thousands of full scores that can be easily searched, printed, and annotated from the convenient online interface.
      This trial was available through Thursday, March 12, 2015.
    • Birds of North America Online
      BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA. BNA Online contains image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and feature recordings of the songs and calls of their species, recordings selected from the extensive collection of Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.
      This trial was available through April 15, 2015 and can now be found on our All Databases LibGuide.
    • CNKI (Chinese Language Interface)
      China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) is the largest source of China-based information resources in the world. This database includes full-text and full-image access to over 9,000,000 articles from almost 7,000 academic journals published in China since 1994 on physical sciences and engineering, humanities and social sciences, medicine, and agriculture.
      This trial was available through March 5, 2015.
    • CNKI (English Language Interface)
      China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) is the largest source of China-based information resources in the world. This database includes full-text and full-image access to over 9,000,000 articles from almost 7,000 academic journals published in China since 1994 on physical sciences and engineering, humanities and social sciences, medicine, and agriculture.
      This trial was available through March 5, 2015.
    • CQ Researcher Archive 1923 forward
      A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. Reports cover topics in public policy, law and civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, and technology.
      This trial was available through Tuesday, March 31, 2015.
    • Digitalia Film Library Collection
      Digitalia Film Library Collection offers access to approximately 500 films and will grow to over 900 films this year. This collection of streaming video includes Spanish, French, other European films, Eastern European films, North American and Latin American films and will add Asian language films in 2015.
      This trial was available through March 6, 2015.
    • Digitalia Hispanica Collection
      Digitalia Hispanica is a Spanish language collection of approximately 12,000+ Spanish language titles including books and journals that range from Arts and Literature to Science and Technology. This collection grows each year.
      This trial was available through March 6, 2015.
    • Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010
      This database is offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from its first issue in 1888 to the end of 2010. Every article, advertisement and market listing is included and shown in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
      This trial was available through Friday, February 27, 2015.
    • Loeb Classical Library
      This growing virtual library of Greek and Latin literature includes English translations of epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in an interface allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
      This trial was available through December 11, 2014.
    • Political Science Complete
      This database provides coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for hundreds of journals along with indexing and abstracting for thousands of publications.
      This trial was available through February 10, 2015.
    • PrivCo
      PrivCo provides business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. They offer profiles for over 700,000 firms and add information and in-house analysis daily. Including company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, this database is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
      This trial was available through Tuesday, May 19, 2015.
    • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
      ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights. Includes access to the following newspapers:

      -Atlanta Daily World
      -Cleveland Call and Post
      -Los Angeles Sentinel
      -New York Amsterdam News
      -Norfolk Journal and Guide
      -Philadelphia Tribune
      -Pittsburgh Courier
      -The Baltimore Afro-American

      This trial was available through March 14, 2015.
    • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
      The ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection is a comprehensive compilation of relevant full-text and abstract and indexing of over 14,000 social sciences titles, totaling around 15 million records. This is combined with more than 1,800 full-text scholarly journals and other sources including full-text dissertations, SSRN Political Science Research Network working papers and sociology videos from INTELECOM.
      This trial was available until November 13, 2014
    • Social Explorer
      Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.
      This trial was available through Thursday, June 18, 2015.
    • World Politics Review
      World Politics Review provides analysis of global trends. Written by experts in the field, content provides access to comprehensive and detailed perspectives on foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs. This resource includes multiple areas of study, with thousands of articles in its archives and more than 75,000 words of original content produced each month.
      This was available through February 10, 2015.

    Assistant Director for Collection Services

    Profile Image
    Caroline Mills
    Contact Info
    James B. Duke Library
    3300 Poinsett Highway
    Greenville, SC 29613
    864.294.2263
    Send Email

    Coordinator of Content Management/ Collection Services

    Profile Image
    Janet Nazar
    Contact Info
    864 294-3507
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip