Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 251: Social Movements: Home
Web Resources
- Campus ReformCampus Reform, a project of the Leadership Institute, is America's leading site for college news.
As a watchdog to the nation's higher education system, Campus Reform exposes bias and abuse on the nation's college campuses. Their team of professional journalists works alongside student activists and student journalists to report on the conduct and misconduct of university administrators, faculty, and students.
Newspaper Databases
- Access World News Research CollectionFind diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- FactivaAccess to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
- Newspaper Source PlusContains more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Includes full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
- News (Gale OneFile)InfoTrac Newsstand is a full-text newspaper database. You can search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
- AP NewsMonitor CollectionProvides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationPublished weekly, the Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Helpful Reference Source
The Blackwell Companion to Social MovementsCall Number: Print Call Number: HM881 .B53 2004 OR Available ONLINEThe Blackwell Companion to Social Movements is a compilation of original, state-of-the-art essays by internationally recognized scholars on an array of topics in the field of social movement studies. Contains original, state-of-the-art essays by internationally recognized scholars Covers a wide array of topics in the field of social movement studies Features a valuable introduction by the editors which maps the field, and helps situate the study of social movements within other disciplines Includes coverage of historical, political, and cultural contexts; leadership; organizational dynamics; social networks and participation; consequences and outcomes; and case studies of major social movements Offers the most comprehensive discussion of social movements available
History Databases
- America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- History Reference CenterOffers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
1933
Women turn out in large numbers, some carrying placards reading "We want beer," for the anti prohibitionparade and demonstration in Newark, N.J., Oct. 28, 1932. More than 20,000 people took part in the mass demand for the repeal of the 18th Amendment. (AP Photo) From AP Images database.
Sociology Databases
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Social Sciences Full TextThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Revolution and Protest Online*Explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images.
2014
Desiree Griffiths, 31, of Miami, holds up a sign saying "Black Lives Matter", with the names of Michael Brown and Eric Garner, two black men recently killed by police, during a protest Friday, Dec. 5, 2014, in Miami. People are protesting nationwide against recent decisions not to prosecute white police officers involved in the killing of black men. (AP Photo/Lynne Sladky) From AP Images database.