It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This 2nd edition reflects changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Takes cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
The Encyclopedia of African Religion is the first comprehensive work to assemble ideas, concepts, discourses, and extensive essays on African religion. Provides primary material necessary for further research, analysis, and exposition of the concrete beliefs of African people.
Provides a comprehensive overview of Buddhism. Describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. Contains entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies. Explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism and Christianity.
Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Online version of the 2nd edition of the Encyclopaedia Judaica. Includes complete content of all 22 volumes of the print version. Presents scholarship on historic topics as well as treatments of contemporary Jewish life, including added emphasis of the role of women and explorations of the full global scope of the Diaspora.
Online versions of the Encylopaedia of Islam, 2nd and 3rd editions. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, encompassing over 12,000 printed pages. The Encyclopaedia of Islam includes special characters, such as accented letters and non Roman writing systems, which can sometimes appear incorrectly in your browser.
Corresponds to the 1913 first printed edition of the Catholic Encyclopedias. This online version is nearly 90% complete and the articles are continually being transcribed from the print to the web.
An international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline and history of the Catholic Church.
Starting with Background Information
Become familiar with the ideas, major concepts and basic vocabulary in your chosen research area. Such background knowledge places your topic in a wider context, deepens your understanding and helps you feel more comfortable with it.
Encyclopedias are a great place to get an overview of a topic that is new to you.
Encyclopedias often identify narrower areas within the broad subject, which may suggest a focus for your research. Many encyclopedia article entries also provide a list of references that can help you locate further, more in-depth and scholarly information sources.
Work from general to specific.
If a general encyclopedia doesn't provide enough background information, continue your research with focused subject encyclopedias. Wikipedia can be a place to find specific names, dates and events, but use it mainly as a jumping off point. The library has scholarly subject encyclopedias which provide reliable and in depth information.
Subject dictionaries can help define unfamiliar words and specialized terminology when researching a new subject in specific disciplines.
Remember: Encyclopedias are good starting points, but don’t contain ALL the information you'll need on a subject for college level research.
Get started: Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords and relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.
Selected Print Reference Sources for Worldwide Religions