Furman University home page
Loading...
SUS 325: Conservation and Communities: Historical Newspapers
Collections of Historical Newspapers
- 19th Century US NewspapersProvides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Gale Primary SourcesThe Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- Newspapers.com Library EditionDating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs for thousands of historical newspapers. Newspapers range from well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries includes 42 newspapers from South Carolina, 1,007 from North Carolina and 3 newspapers from Georgia.
Individual Digital Titles-Domestic
- Athens, Georgia NewspaperAlternate titles. 1827-1928
- Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Image from 1868Searchable full image of every page of the Atlanta Constitution including all advertisements.
- Atlanta Daily World (1934-2003)The Atlanta Daily World is the oldest black newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia, founded in 1928.Searchable full text and full image.Avalable through Black Studies Center.
- Baltimore Afro-American: 1893 - 1988Searchable full image of every page of the Baltimore Afro-American including all advertisements from 1893 - 1988.
- Boston Globe Historical Full Image from 1872Searchable full image of every page of the Boston Globe including all advertisements.
- Chicago Defender Historical Full Image from 1910Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
- Chicago Tribune Historical Full Image from 1849Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Tribune including all advertisements.
- Christian Science Monitor: Historical Full Image from 1908Searchable full image of every page of the Christian Science Monitor including all advertisements.
- Hartford Courant: Historical Full Image from 1764Searchable full image of every page of the Hartford Courant including all advertisements.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1936-2005)Weekly. The Sentinel was founded in 1933 by Leon H. Washington Jr. for black readers.Since that time, the newspaper has been considered a staple of African American life in Los Angeles.
- Los Angeles Times Historical Full Image from 1881Searchable full image of every page of the Los Angeles Times including all advertisements.
- Minneapolis Tribune, (1867-1922)This title is now available through a new platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services. These digital newspapers were previously available through the subscription site ProQuest. Minnesota State Library Services’ contract with ProQuest expired in 2014 and the digital newspaper pages were transferred to the Minnesota Historical Society.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)Searchable full image of every page of the New York Amsterdam News including all advertisements.
- New York Clipper, 1853-19247 May 1853 - 12 July 1924 (3605 issues)
- New York Times Historical Full Image from 1851Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.
- New York Tribune Historical 1841-1922 Full ImageSearchable full image of every page of the New York Tribune including all advertisements.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)Searchable full image of every page of the Pittsburgh Courier including all advertisements.
- Sporting Life (1885-1917)Provided by the LA84 Foundation. This Foundation funds youth sports in Southern California, trains coaches, and examines the role of sport in society. The foundation is the legacy of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.
- American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, The (1857 - 1922)Full text access to the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger.
- American Israelite, The (1854 - 2000)Access to the newspaper The American Israelite from 1854 - 2000.
- Arizona Republican, The (1890 - 2007)Access to The Arizona Republican from 1890 - 2007.
- Cincinnati Enquirer, The (1841 - 2009)Access to The Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841 - 2009.
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 1991)Access to the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934 - 1991.
- Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922)Access to the Dayton Daily News from 1898 - 1922.
- Detroit Free Press 1831‐1999Searchable full image of every page of the Detroit Free Press, including all advertisements, from 1831 until 1999.
- Globe and Mail, The (1844 - 2014)Access to The Globe and Mail from 1844 - 2014.
- Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)Access to the Indianapolis Star from1903 - 2004.
- Jewish Advocate, The (1905 - 1990)Based in downtown Boston, The Jewish Advocate, founded in 1902, is the oldest continually-circulated English-language Jewish newspaper in the United States.
- Jewish Exponent, The (1887 - 1990)The Jewish Exponent is a weekly community newspaper in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and the second-oldest continuously published Jewish newspaper in the United States.
- Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000)Access to the Louisville Courier Journal from 1830 - 2000.
- Newsday (1940 - 1989)Access to Newsday from 1940 - 1989.
- Norfolk New Journal and Guide (1916-2003)The New Journal and Guide is a regional weekly newspaper based in Norfolk, Virginia, and serving the Hampton Roads area. The weekly focuses on local and national African-American news, sports, and issues and has been in circulation since 1900.
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)Access to the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912 - 2001.
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786 - 2003)Access to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786 - 2003.
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922)Access to the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - 1922.
- St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1901 - present)Access to the St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times
- Wall Street Journal HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Wall Street Journal including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1889 and continues to an 8-year moving wall.
- Washington Post HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Washington Post including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1877 and continues to a 7-year moving wall.
Greenville Newspapers- Microfilm
- Greenville News on Microfilm-1920-2014Call Number: Located in microfilm cabinets.Ask at Research Assistance desk for the year(s) or month(s) you need.