Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 241 Class in America: Home
Find Topics
The databases listed below will be helpful for finding background on issues of poverty. Read articles here to chose and develop your topic
- CQ Researcher Good place to begin research on current topics. Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Updated weekly.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) With information on today's hottest social issues, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and more.
- Pathways: A Magazine on Poverty, Inequality, and Social Policy Pathways Magazine reports on trends in poverty and inequality, summarizes cutting-edge research, evaluates key interventions, develops bold visions for the future, and stages debates among top commentators.
Find Books
Find Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- EconLit Corresponds to Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, and covers journal articles, dissertations, chapters in books, conference proceedings and entire books.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides searching of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- ERIC ERIC is the world's largest source of education information, with nearly 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers topics such as physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, and much more.
Peter Cooper, New Yorker Magazine
