Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 223: Urban Community: Home
Web
- Bloomberg Citylab"What is Bloomberg CityLab?
Bloomberg CityLab focuses on the problems that cities face, focusing on Transportation, Environment, Justice, Culture, Design, and Housing." ~Bloomberg.com Help Center - Urban InstituteA nonprofit research organization ... "We are driven by a passion to ensure that everyone—regardless of income, race or ethnicity, education, or zip code—has the chance to achieve their highest potential." ~ UI Website
- Brookings InstitutionThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level. ~ BI Website
- Greenville NewsThe Greenville News is a daily newspaper published in Greenville, South Carolina. This database includes issues going back to 1999 as well as current local articles.
- Greenvilleonline.com - Greenville News OnlinePaywall presents after viewing 5 free articles. Annoying ads.
- Greenvillejournal.com - Greenville JournalFree. No annoying pop-up ads.
Putt-Putt @ McPherson Park
Bring your own putters and balls. It's free!
Select Databases
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Social Sciences Full TextThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Annual Reviews OnlineOnline access to authoritative, analytic reviews published by Annual Reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.
- African American Studies CenterA comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
Community Links
- Greenville SubdivisionsSubdivision directory (commercial site courtesy Producer Realty). Scroll below search boxes to view Includes subdivision list. Includes size, school zone, market place info. and more.
- Public Library Locations (GCLS)12 locations plus one books mobile!
- United Way of Greenville CountyWe mobilize people and resources to improve lives, strengthen the community and advance equity for the benefit of all.
- Greenville NonprofitsAn online resource to increase awareness about the local nonprofit community published by DNA Creative Communications.
- Nonprofit Alliance"The NonProfit Alliance is on a mission to propel the impact of nonprofits by serving as the collective voice for the sector and providing the connection point to strengthen capacity and innovation...NPA is here to serve the nonprofit community. "
- Village Launch (Entrepreneur Academy)Village Launch exists to equip under-resourced entrepreneurs to become providers, creators, and producers in their own communities.
