Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 101: Introduction to Sociology - Gao: For Your Media Paper
Spring 2020
During Spring semester, 2020, you will rely on electronic books (ebooks) and articles that are available full-text through Furman's library, interlibrary loan (from another library) or freely available on the internet. Use this search box to get started:
All databases linked below will get you started with finding these. You must be logged into the Furman network to use ebooks we own, and to read the full-text articles. Interlibrary loans normally come in 24-72 hours to your email but maybe delayed during Corona Virus shut down periods. PASCAL deliveries (from other college libraries in South Carolina) are suspended for March 2020.
Popular and Non-Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Finding Books
Use the Furman University Library Catalog to find books, eBooks, videos and other sources on your topic.
PASCAL Delivers
Search the PASCAL Delivers Catalog to locate and order resources from South Carolina Academic Libraries. Books you request will be delivered to the Main Library Circulation Desk and available for pickup usually within 3-5 days.
Scholarly and Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Social Sciences Full TextThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains more than two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.