Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why don't you try . . .
Handbook of Research on Science Education by
Call Number: Science Gen Q181 .H149 2007
Synthesis of the empirical and theoretical research concerning teaching and learning in science and lays down a foundation upon which future research can be built.
Handbook of Design Research Methods in Education by
Call Number: General Coll QA279 .H34 2008
This Handbook presents the latest thinking and current examples of design research in education. Design-based research involves introducing innovations into real-world practices (as opposed to constrained laboratory contexts) and examining the impact of those designs on the learning process.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by
Call Number: Reference Coll QA11 .E665 2001
For readers and researchers investigating national and international aspects of mathematics education at the elementary, secondary and post-secondary levels, this quick, easy-to-use encyclopedia provides basic information for ready reference and is an ideal starting point for more in-depth research
The Biology Teacher's Handbook
Call Number: Online
No matter the depth of your experience, gain insight into what constitutes good teaching, how to guide students through inquiry at varying levels, and how to create a culture of inquiry in your classroom using science notebooks and other strategies. In addition, learn tactics for including controversial subjects in your courses, promoting scientific discussion, and choosing the right materials information that would benefit the teacher of any subject.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Search Tools & Tutorials
Not finding enough on your topic? Not finding anything on your topic? Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for?
Brainstorming the different words and phrases used to describe your topic is one the most helpful things you can do to start your research. It gets you really thinking about your topic and the ways it can be approached.
If you're having trouble getting the storm started, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
How to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
Use the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
Use subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)