Skip to main content

New summer library services with curbside pickup

Furman University home page

Science Library Deselection Spring 2016:

Candidates for Deselection

Click here to go to a list of our deslection candidates.

Candidates for deslelection will be marked with a colored dot on the spine or you can pick up a list of candidates at the Science Library Circulation Desk.

Timeline for Project

Fall 2015 Project Planned

December 2015 - January 2016 Candidates Identified

February 4 through March 10 - Science, Education and History Faculty Review Period

March 10 Through April 21 - Full Faculty Review Period

May 2016 - Selected Items Withdrawn from the Collection

Science Books Assessment Project Overview

Under the guidance of Science Librarian, Andrea Wright, and Assistant Director for Collection Services, Caroline Mills, the the Furman University Libraries is assessing our science collection. During the spring of 2016 we will examine 1,905 book housed in the Sanders Science Library in the following subject areas:

Click here to go to a list of our deselection candidates.

Criteria used for initial selection of candidates for deselection from the Science Collection:

  • Part of the collection for more than ten years with no checkouts or recorded internal use during that time
  • Second copy
  • Superseded editions
  • Series replaced by electronic versions

After the initial deselection titles are identified based on the criteria above, library faculty and staff, including subject liaisons, review the list. Items of special note (e.g., award winners, works related to Furman or South Carolina, and parts of series) may be retained in the circulating collection or transferred to Special Collections and Archives.

Location of Books for Assessment

The candidates for deselection are available for evaluation in the Sanders Science Library, in the middle of Plyler Hall during regular Science Library Hours.  If you have any additional questions, please email Caroline Mills or call 864.294.2263.

Subject Guide

Caroline Mills's picture
Caroline Mills
Contact:
James B. Duke Library
Room 004A
864-230-2263