Furman University home page
Loading...
Country Information: Home
Basic
- BBC Country ProfilesSearch by continent or nation. Includes country background, current status, and in many cases, video feeds of current news.
- Country Comparisons - BritannicaQuick and easy comparisons of any 2 countries in the world.
- CultureGramsSnapshots of the world’s cultures. Each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and the 13 Canadian provinces are included.
- World FactbookPublished by the CIA, provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, etc. for 267 world entities.
Please consult our Statistics libguide.
News Articles From Around the World
Please consult our News Sources libguide.
Link: https://libguides.furman.edu/resources/news-sources
More Than Statistics
- BMI Country Risk Reports (Business Monitor International)Country analysis of the political and economic risks in more than 200 markets.
Access via NexisUni:
Under "Guided Search" --> Choose "Country Info."--> Select "Country Name" from drop-down --> Under "Choose a Source" drop-down, Select desired Risk Report. - Coface - Country Risk AssessmentsInternational credit insurer provides economic data including 160 country evaluations, drawn up on the basis of macroeconomic, financial and political data.
- Country StudiesOnline version of the Country Studies Handbooks produced by the Library of Congress and the Department of the Army.
Pay attention to publication dates! Some are quite old.
- Freedomhouse ReportsIncludes the following reports: Freedom on the Net, Freedom in the World, Freedom and the Media, Nations in Transit, Countries at the Crossroads.
- IMF Country InformationBrowse alphabetically. The International Monetary Fund is an international financial organization of the UN. Consists of 190 countries.
- IMF DataAccess to macroeconomic and financial data. Includes available datasets and various data topics.
- International Financial Statistics OnlineAspects of international and domestic finance. Users can download the data, but in order to use the download function, you need to first sign-in/create a free user account. This source includes current data for the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation. Covers most countries.
- OECD Economic SurveysOECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Member country reviews are generally done on an 18 month cycle,while non-member reviews are done as agreed with the subject country.
- OECD Country Statistical ProfilesThe Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development site maintains up to date economic statistics for its 30 members in the developed countries. It also provides information on economic issues in the developing world.
- ReliefWebA humanitarian information service provided by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) Provides reliable disaster and crisis updates and analysis.
- U.S. State Department - Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsNews and reports from the Department on countries, geographic entities, and international organizations. Updated periodically.
- U.S. State Department (Archived website 2009 - 2017)A permanent electronic archive of information released online from January 1, 1997 to January 20, 2001
- World Development Report OnlineYearly report from the World Bank since 1978. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development.
- The World's ConstitutionsInteract with the world’s constitutions in a variety of ways. Provided by "Constitute," developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project at the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Chicago.
- World Development IndicatorsProvides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups.
Reference Sources
Political Handbook of the WorldCall Number: Ready Reference Collection JF37 .P6Earlier editions shelved in the Oversize Collection.
The Statesman's Year BookCall Number: Ready Reference Collection JA51 .S7earlier editions shelved in the General Collection
World Development ReportCall Number: General Collection ; HC59.7 .W659print available thru 2014.
Most recent edition is available electronically.
Check catalog for link.- World Development Report 2022 : Finance for an Equitable RecoveryCall Number: Reference Collection HC59.7 .W659
earlier editions shelved in the General Collection. 
World Economic and Social SurveyCall Number: Reference Collection HC59 .A169earlier editions shelved in the Oversize Collection
