This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.

This two-volume work celebrates 50 notable achievements of African Americans, highlighting black contributions to U.S. history and examining the ways black accomplishments shaped American culture.This two-volume encyclopedia offers a unique look at the African American experience, from the arrival of the first 20 Africans at Jamestown through the launch of the Black Lives Matter movement and the Ferguson Protests. It illustrates subjects such as the Jim Crow period, the Brown v. Board of Education case that overturned segregation, Jackie Robinson's landmark integration of major league baseball, and the election of Barack Obama as president of the United States. Drawing from almost 400 years of U.S. history, the work documents the experiences and impact of black people on every aspect of American life.Presented chronologically, the selected events each include at least one primary source to provide the reader with a first-person perspective. These range from excerpts of speeches given by famous African American figures, to programs from the March on Washington. The remarkable stories collected here bear witness to the strength of a group of people who chose to survive and found ways to work collectively to force America to live up to the promise of its founding.

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brownruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatmentto be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figureswho affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.

The African-American's struggle for freedom and equality has been one of the truly heroic episodes in American history. Yet, until now, there has been no reference book presenting an overview of the century-long struggle for civil rights under a single cover. This encylopedia fills that void.

The African American struggle for freedom and equality is one of the truly heroic elements of American history. Yet even today, African Americans as a whole still don't fully share in the American dream. This encyclopedia explores the struggle's successes and setbacks, from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century. An impressive range of subjects covers everything from W.E.B. DuBois to early legislative acts, constitutional amendments of the mid-1800s, Black Is Beautiful, the tumultuous events of the 1960s, Al Sharpton, the Million Man March, and Adam Clayton Powell. Primary documents--personal vignettes, court cases, newspaper articles, and speeches--provide firsthand accounts and supplement the A-to-Z entries. An extensive timeline highlights key events. Revising and expanding a highly acclaimed, award-winning encyclopedia published in 1992, this book provides an invaluable resource for anyone wishing to understand the African American struggle for civil rights. This edition adds information on the past decade, updates earlier entries and all bibliographies, adds 120 primary documents, and includes a greatly expanded timeline.

Particularly helpful to anyone hoping to understand the evolution and intricacies of the modern American political process, The Encyclopedia of American Political History identifies the most significant personalities, trends, campaigns and elections, protests and rebellions, laws, statutes, and policies in American political history. Alphabetically organized for easy access to include: -- A complete chronology and an at-a-glance timeline of American political history, which helps establish a context for key figures, events, and concepts -- More than 240 signed, original articles by prominent scholars o American political history, organized alphabetically and cross-referenced by subject for easy access -- A glossary of frequently used abbreviations and their meanings as well as historical summaries of presidential election results for quick lookup -- Thorough historical coverage beginning with the late 1700s. -- Over 150 photographs, illustrations, maps, and tables to provide a rich visual presentation -- Detailed index for easy searching and reference plus bibliographic references with most articles. High school and beginning college students (most of them born in the mid-1980s) will find it invaluable in their struggle to understand the history of modern political events.