LibGuides: PHL 318: Philosophy of Law: Home

Landmark SC Cases

Might want to know...

“Slip” opinions are the first version of the Court’s opinions posted on the Supreme Court website. A “slip” opinion consists of the majority or principal opinion, any concurring or dissenting opinions written by the Justices, and a prefatory syllabus prepared by the Reporter’s Office that summarizes the decision. The slip opinions are posted on the website within minutes after the opinions are issued and remain posted until the opinions for the entire Term are published in the bound volumes of the United States Reports.

What is a Law Review?

Sources to consider:

EBSCO articles Search
Includes some law journals, academic journals and newspaper sources. Includes more items than search on main page.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Oyez
A free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law. A multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955

Philosopher’s Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
CQ Political Reference Suite
Allow for limiting your searching to the Supreme Court Yearbook - A collection of annual reporting on the actions and opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court with clear, in-depth analysis of every decision made by the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term and the justices who ruled on them.