Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Piano Resources: Find Articles

Music Periodical Indexes

Non-Music Indexes with Substantial Music Content

A selected list.  This is not comprehensive, as you can find music information many places.  Think first about what subject you might relate your search to, and go looking for databases on that subject.  This is a place to start.

Piano-Specific Journals and Coverage

These are the instrument-specific journals the music library subscribes to, as well as information on how well they are indexed in the music databases.  Some music journals are not indexed anywhere, unfortunately, and have to be flipped through.

American Suzuki Journal (in print in library v. 29+)
Journal of the Suzuki Association of the Americas, with playing and teaching information.

IIMP Music Index
Index Vol. 18-23, v. 32+ Print v. 22+
Full-text N/A Online v. 34+


Clavier (in print in library v. 2-47, ceased publication, named changed to Clavier Companion)

IIMP Music Index
Index c. 29-47
Print v. 1+
Full-text N/A Online v. 32-47


Clavier Companion (in print in library v.3+)

IIMP Music Index
Index v. 1+
Print N/A
Full-text - N/A Online v.1+


Piano Guild Notes (music library keeps most current year)

IIMP Music Index
Index N/A Print N/A
Full-Text N/A Online N/A