Skip to main content

New summer library services with curbside pickup

Furman University home page

Music Deselection Fall 2016:

Candidates for Deselection

Click here to go to a list of our deslection candidates.

You can music deslection candidates in the Technical Services Suite, (004) in the lower level of the James B. Duke Library from 9AM-5PM Monday-Friday. If you would like us to retain one or more titles you may check them out or send a list to  caroline.mills1689@furman.edu.

You will have until Friday, November 4th to review the candidates.

Music Books Assessment Project Overview

Under the guidance of Music Librarian, Patricia Sasser, the the Furman University Libraries is assessing our music book collection. During the spring of 2016 the music faculty examined 1,685 book housed in the Maxwell Music Library and 707 volumes were chosen for retention. We are now inviting all faculty to review the remaining 978 titles.

These titles fall into the following areas: M (instrumental and vocal music as well as miscellaneous collections and unidentified compositions), ML (literature on music including history and criticism, bibliography and the philosophical and societal aspects of music) and MT (instruction and study of music). For more detail regarding these categories please click here.  

Criteria used for initial selection of candidates for deselection from the Music Collection:

  • Part of the collection for more than ten years with no checkouts or recorded internal use during that time
  • Second copy
  • Superseded editions

After the initial deselection titles are identified based on the criteria above, librarians review the list. Items of special note (e.g., award winners, works related to Furman or South Carolina, and parts of series) may be retained in the circulating collection or transferred to Special Collections and Archives.

Click here to go to a list of our deselection candidates.