Furman University home page
Loading...
Medieval Studies: Background Information
Selected Sources from the Reference Collection
Dictionary of the Middle AgesCall Number: Online
The New Cambridge Medieval History, C. 500-C. 700Call Number: eBook
Medieval Archaeology: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference Collection D125 .M42 2001
Historical Dictionary of the CrusadesCall Number: Reference Collection D155 .A6 2003
The Arthurian AnnalsCall Number: Reference Collection DA152.5.A7 .N37 2004
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon EnglandCall Number: Reference Collection DA152 .B58 1999
Medieval Germany: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference Collection DD157 .M43 2001
Medieval Italy : an EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference Collection DG443 .M43 2004
Medieval Scandanavia: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference Collection DL30 .M43 1993
Medieval Iberia: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Online.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Online. Also available at Reference Collection DS124 .M386 2003
Encyclopedia of MonasticismCall Number: Reference Collection BL631 .E63 2000
Dictionary of Medieval Heroes : Characters in Medieval Narrative Traditions and Their Afterlife in Literature, Theatre, and the Visual ArtsCall Number: Reference Collection PN682.C5 V3513 1998
Chaucer Name Dictionary : a Guide to Astrological, Biblical, Historical, Literary, and Mythological Names in the Works of Geoffrey ChaucerCall Number: Reference Collection PR1903 .D4 1988
Companion to the Medieval TheatreCall Number: Reference Collection PN2152 .C66 1989
Revised Medieval Latin Word-List from British and Irish SourcesCall Number: Reference Collection PA2891 .L3
Middle English DictionaryCall Number: Reference Collection PE679 .M54 1956
Encyclopedia of medieval literatureReference: PN669 .E53 2000
Medieval folklore : an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customsReference: GR35 .M43 2000
Medieval France : an encyclopediaReference: DC33.2 .M44 1995
Selected Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesProvides articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. Focuses on Europe and Christendom. Also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
- Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumCovers 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Includes entries on everything from patriarchy and emperors to entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread. Brings to life this culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
- Classical and Medieval Literature CriticismAs a convenient source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature, this series contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: Medieval PhilosophersThe philosophers profiled in DLB Volume 115 were involved in education, public life and ecclesiastical administration, and thus represent the various schools of thought that existed throughout this vast period.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: Old and Middle English LiteratureThis award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages, 800-1170This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages, 1170-1280This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages: Eleventh to Fifteenth CenturiesThis award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.