LibGuides: *Mathematics: Getting Started

Recommended Online Titles

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
This superb reference contains more than 3,000 alphabetically arranged entries, providing clear jargon-free definitions of even the most technical mathematical terms. The dictionary uses graphs, diagrams, and charts to render definitions as comprehensible as possible.
A Dictionary of Statistics
This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals and societies.
Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
This milestone extensive work combines the essentials of history - biography, chronology, political and economic background - with the observations, theories, principles, laws and equations that constitute the specifics of science.
Handbook of Mathematics
This guide book to mathematics contains in handbook form the fundamental working knowledge of mathematics which is needed as an everyday guide for working scientists and engineers, as well as for students. Easy to understand, and convenient to use, this guide book gives concisely the information necessary to evaluate most problems which occur in concrete applications.
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic
This book provides comprehensive and accessible coverage of the disciplines of philosophy of mathematics and philosophy of logic.

Find More

Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:

How to Maximize Reference Sources

References sources, particularly specialized encyclopedias, offer many benefits. Consider the following tips as you review a reference source on your topic to reap all the benefits and make your researching even better.

Get definitions and background - Reference sources assume that you are new to a topic. Jargon and specialized terminology will be explained and contextualized, which you might not get in more advanced books and journal articles.
Get caught-up on a topic - Research is a conversation, and often it has been going on for years. Reference sources will provide a historical background and identify key developments to help you understand how we got to the current understandings and theories.
Identify key people and theories - Who are the most important people and ideas on your topic? Reference sources will help you identify them so you can explore their lives and research more deeply.
Find more sources - Reference sources will provide additional reading, usually in the form of references or background lists. These are a great next-step in your research process.