Skip to main content

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Divisions, Departments, and Branches

Special Collections and Archives

The mission of Special Collections and Archives is to acquire, organize, make available, and preserve a variety of primary and secondary research materials documenting the history and people of Furman University, Greenville Woman's College, Greenville, the South Carolina Upstate, South Carolina Baptists, and twenty and twenty-first century poets in this state.

Special Collections and Archives is comprised of the following divisions: the Furman University Archives, the Manuscript Collection, the Book Collections, the South Carolina Baptist Historical Collection, the South Carolina Poetry Archives and Special Collections for Music.

Special Collections and Archives serves as the official repository for Furman University records. The department is also a center for the study of the South Carolina Baptist denomination. The Baptist Historical Collection was founded to document the history of the denomination as well as the individuals, churches, and associations that further delineate the Baptist faith in South Carolina. The South Carolina Poetry Archives houses published and manuscript materials of twentieth and twenty-first century poets with a South Carolina connection.

Special Collections for Music highlights a partnership between the Special Collections and Archives department and the Music Library. The role of Special Collections in the partnership will be to curate materials which require distinctive care and to collect manuscript and ephemeral materials. Currently, the collection has two components: the Local Music Collection and the Manuscript Collection.

Personnel

Please don't edit this box. Thanks. Scott