LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence (AI) Guide: Library AI Resources

Library Resources

The Furman Libraries provide access to countless AI research resources, including books, databases, and more. Use the links below to explore AI research.

Questions? Contact libraryreference@furman.edu, or stop by the Research Assistance desk at the Duke Library.

Books, Articles, E-journals and more

Search for recent books, conference proceedings, and videos
Recent additions to the Furman Libraries related to artificial intelligence.
Search for electronic journals
Search for e-journals related to Artificial Intelligence
Search for full-text peer-reviewed articles
Search full-text peer-reviewed articles in Academic Search Premier and other EBSCO databases
Search for audiobooks
Search for audiobooks about AI from O'Reilly

Databases

ACM Digital Library
Citations and full text of journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings and newsletters from the Association for Computing Machinery. Full text coverage back to 1954 for some titles.
arXiv
A free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
IEEE Xplore
Flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
O’Reilly Safari
Technology resource featuring books, audiobooks, conference videos, and more.

Library Tools and Resources Under Evaluation

Many library product vendors are experimenting with methods to incorporate AI functionality into their products. The Furman Libraries are currently tracking the following AI product features and considering their impact on library users and staff.

Alma AI-Based Enrichment Metadata Generator
This cataloging tool will help select bibliographic records in the Alma Community Zone to streamline the workflows of catalogers.
EBSCO AI Insights
Offers concise summaries, presenting 2-5 key points for each document. This consistent format, applied across multiple EBSCO databases and deep backfiles of licensed content, introduces a new level of uniformity, facilitating rapid review.
Primo Research Assistant
Generative AI tool that allows students to enter their research topic/question into the Library Catalog and receive relevant sources/resources.
Springer Machine-Generated Books
Since 2019, Springer has published over 500 machine-generated literature overviews, and is now offering a new book format – AI-based literature overviews.