Furman University home page
Loading...
Islam: Background Information
Selected Electronic Reference Sources for Islam
- Encyclopaedia of IslamOnline versions of the Encylopaedia of Islam, 2nd and 3rd editions. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, encompassing over 12,000 printed pages. The Encyclopaedia of Islam includes special characters, such as accented letters and non Roman writing systems, which can sometimes appear incorrectly in your browser.
- Oxford Islamic StudiesFeatures reference content and commentary by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompasses over 3,500 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionThis 2nd edition reflects changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Takes cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
- Melton's Encyclopedia of American ReligionsCoverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Includes essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
- Sage Reference OnlineOnline versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.
- Oxford Dictionary of IslamThe Oxford Dictionary of Islam includes more than 2,000 alphabetically arranged entries. Covers the religion of Islam and its impact on history, politics, and society.
Starting with Background Information
Become familiar with the ideas, major concepts and basic vocabulary in your chosen research area. Such background knowledge places your topic in a wider context, deepens your understanding and helps you feel more comfortable with it.
- Encyclopedias are a great place to get an overview of a topic that is new to you.
Encyclopedias often identify narrower areas within the broad subject, which may suggest a focus for your research. Many encyclopedia article entries also provide a list of references that can help you locate further, more in-depth and scholarly information sources. - Work from general to specific.
If a general encyclopedia doesn't provide enough background information, continue your research with focused subject encyclopedias. Wikipedia can be a place to find specific names, dates and events, but use it mainly as a jumping off point. The library has scholarly subject encyclopedias which provide reliable and in depth information. - Subject dictionaries can help define unfamiliar words and specialized terminology when researching a new subject in specific disciplines.
- Remember: Encyclopedias are good starting points, but don’t contain ALL the information you'll need on a subject for college level research.
- Get started: Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords and relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.
Selected Print Reference Sources for Islam
The Encyclopaedia of IslamCall Number: Reference Collection DS37 .E523
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim worldCall Number: Reference Collection BP40 .E525 2004 (also online)
The Oxford dictionary of IslamCall Number: Reference Collection BP40 .O95 2003 (also online)
Encyclopaedia of the QurʼānCall Number: Reference Collection BP133 .E53 2001 (also online)
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic worldCall Number: Reference Collection DS35.53 .O95 1995 (also online)
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic worldCall Number: Reference Collection DS35.53 .O96 2009 (also online)
Encyclopedia of women and Islamic culturesCall Number: Reference Collection HQ1170 .E53 2003 (also online)
Atlas of the world's religionsCall Number: Reference Collection G1046.E4 A7 2007 (also online)
Encyclopedia of Islamic civilisation and religionCall Number: Reference Collection BP40 .E526 2008
Encyclopedia of Islamic law : a compendium of the views of the major schoolsCall Number: Reference Collection BP150 .B35 1996
How to be a perfect stranger : a guide to etiquette in other people's religious ceremoniesCall Number: Reference Collection BJ2010 .M34 1996
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab World, Iran and TurkeyCall Number: Reference Collection BP60 .M36 1999
Historical dictionary of IslamCall Number: Reference Collection BP50 .A33 2001
The Islamic world : past and presentCall Number: Reference Collection DS35.53 .I86 2004 (also online)
The new encyclopedia of IslamCall Number: Reference Collection BP40 .G42 2008 (also online)
The Qurơan : an encyclopediaCall Number: Reference Collection BP133 .Q87 2006 (also online)
Historical Dictionary of Sufism by Call Number: Ref BP188.48 .R46 2005ISBN: 0810853426Publication Date: 2005-06-07More than 3,000 entries and cross-references on the history, main figures, institutions, theory, and literary works associated with Islam's mystical tradition.
