Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 321: History of Urban and Suburban America: Primary Sources
Visual Sources
- American Broadsides and EphemeraBuilt in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this full-color digital edition offers searchable facsimiles of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Featuring documents produced locally across the country, these rare items vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans.
- South Caroliniana Map CollectionTaken together, the maps chart the state's urbanization over time. The collection also contains a number of maps dating from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, which are vital to researchers interested in the history of cartography.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsGreenville 1884, 1888, 1893, 1898, 1902, 1908, 1913, 1920, 1923
- Lowcountry Digital LibraryHosted at College of Charleston
- Historical City Maps-AmericaFrom the Perry Castenada Library Map Collection
University of Texas-Austin
Studies, Cases
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930Harvard University Open Collections. This collection concentrates heavily on the 19th century. Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Directories and Descriptions
- South Carolina City DirectoriesUSC Digital Collections
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.