Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 256: Women and Gender in India: Primary Sources
Primary Sources
- Women and Social Movements, InternationalThrough the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Ancient Indus Valley and British Raj in India and PakistanImages and sounds providing glimpses of South Asia prior to 1947.
- Bhagat Singh Internet ArchiveBhagat Singh is widely hailed as a martyr as a result of his execution at the hands of oppressors and, as such, he is often referred to as “Shaheed (Martyr) Bhagat Singh.”
- Centre for South Asian Studies-Oral HistoriesThis University of Cambridge collection contains spoken word as well as music recordings.
- Early English Books OnlineContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)Including over 180,000 (200,00 volumes) English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. With full-text search capabilities this resource incorporates canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles.
- Mutiny at the Margins: The Indian Uprising of 1857'Mutiny at the Margins' was a two-year project, funded by the Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC) and located in the School of History & Classics at Edinburgh University, which aimed to provide long overdue new perspectives on the Indian Uprising of 1857.
- South Asia Missionary Archives GuideA preliminary guide to archival collections relating to American Protestant missionary activity in South Asia (including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma/Myanmar, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, and Pakistan) with a focus on the holdings of undergraduate liberal arts colleges in the United States.
- Statistical Abstracts Relating to India: 1840-1920These statistics are provided in 10-year intervals and can be viewed in book form or as in Excel format.
- Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full ImageFull-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
Letters, Diaries, Etc.
Special Collections Webguides
The following webguides contain primary sources as well as some secondary sources. Most of the primary sources are housed in the library's Special Collections and Archives Department located on the 2nd floor of the library.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Furman Libraries is a member of The Center for Research Libraries (CRL), an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Their print and microform resources are available to us through interlibrary loan. However, the link below will take you to the online resources available to Furman faculty and students.
Center for Research Library Online Advanced Search
