Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 224: Civil War Era: Historical Newspapers
Border and Freedom Newspapers
- Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000)Access to the Louisville Courier Journal from 1830 - 2000.
- Cincinnati Enquirer, The (1841 - 2009)Access to The Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841 - 2009.
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786 - 2003)Access to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786 - 2003.
- Globe and Mail, The (1844 - 2014)Access to The Globe and Mail from 1844 - 2014.
African American and Other Newspapers-19th Century
- The LiberatorWilliam Lloyd Garrison's newspaper was the most prominent periodical of radical Abolitionism in the united states of America.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- Friend of Man-1836-1842
Published for the New-York State Anti-Slavery Society by J.P. Bishop.
Friend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. The periodical is of special significance because with the exception of religion, scholars know little about the resources of social movements in rural areas such as Central New York, where Friend of Man was published. - The Press and AbolitionPBS American Experience primary documents
Newspapers - Historical (Digital)
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSimultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)The collection of papers, including North China Herald, The China Press, The China Critic, and the China Weekly Review, provides a primary source chronicle of the country's turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic. The Chinese Newspapers Collection captures all editions published 1832 through 1953.
- Virginia Gazette1736-1790
Williamsburg, Virginia, colonial capital of America. - North Carolina Historical NewspapersCommunity Newspapers from across North Carolina
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- 19th Century US NewspapersProvides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Gale Primary SourcesThe Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive (1822-2006)Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
- Daily Mail Historical ArchiveThe Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of this major UK national newspaper. It can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.
- Welsh Newspapers Online-(1804-1919)National Library of Wales