Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America in Class
Collections of primary resources from the National Humanities Center
American Memory Historical Collection
This site, produced by the Library of Congress, is a collection of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, and text from the Library's 40 Americana collections.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
A digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Find information on the mission, strategies, goals, plans, budgets, statistics, accomplishments, and special programs.
Ellis Island Passenger Search
Search for records of immigrants processed at Ellis Island. View ship manifests and ships themselves.