LibGuides: ART 254: The History of Photography: Find Articles

Lange

DROUGHT REFUGEES, 1936. - Refugee children from Oklahoma at a migrant camp in California. Photograph by Dorothea Lange, November 1936.
CREDIT - ImageQuest
The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group
Rights Managed / For Education Use Only

Verifying Peer Review

Need to be absolutely certain that an article has been peer-reviewed? Use UlrichsWeb! This database provides a range of information about a journal from publisher to title history. Peer-reviewed journals are indicated by a symbol that resembles a sports referee's jersey on them.

**Tip: Remember to search by the name of the journal, not the title of the journal article.**

UlrichsWeb
Detailed information on more 300,000 periodicals.

Select Databases

Keep in mind the "Articles" search option that is part of the online catalog does not include many of our most robust databases, including Ebsco. Enhance your article search by also using these databases to find articles about photography and photographers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Provides coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles are available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Indexing 1980-present; Fulltext for most titles, 1994-present. Indexing 1980-present; Fulltext for most titles, 1994-present.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Art Full Text
Features full-text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Humanities Full Text
H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
JSTOR

JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.

19th Century to Five Years Ago
Omnifile Full Text
Covers magazines and journals from a variety of subjects, including business, humanities, science, education, & social science, plus popular magazines.