Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 276B History of Greenville: Primary Sources
Visual Sources
- Greenville IMAPGreenville County imap provides you with an interactive, visual look at essential services available throughout Greenville County such as food, housing, healthcare, childcare and recreational opportunities.
A primary goal for imap is to increase community awareness of both access to and convenience of these services in the cities and neighborhoods within Greenville County.
Some of the areas identified and mapped include: bus stops, parks, educational institutions, affordable housing, health centers, quality childcare, food pantries, recreation centers, shelters, community gardens, farmers markets, employment assistance, elderly assistance and governmental offices. - South Caroliniana Map CollectionTaken together, the maps chart the state's urbanization over time. The collection also contains a number of maps dating from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, which are vital to researchers interested in the history of cartography.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsGreenville 1884, 1888, 1893, 1898, 1902, 1908, 1913, 1920, 1923
- Carolina Textile CollectionSponsored by Clemson University
- Lowcountry Digital LibraryHosted at College of Charleston
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Among other documents Social Explorer includes the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 and Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
- Historical City Maps-AmericaFrom the Perry Castenada Library Map Collection
University of Texas-Austin - Furman University Old Campus Photos
This collection contains over 1,500 photographs of the old main campus of Furman University located in downtown Greenville, SC along the Reedy River. Images cover over 100 years, dating from 1865 until 1967 after the campus closed due to its relocation to 3300 Poinsett Highway. These images are part of the Furman University Historical Images digital collection.
- Furman University New Campus Photos
This collection contains photographs of the new campus of Furman University located at 3300 Poinsett Highway Greenville, SC. The photos date from 1950-1989, and show the growth of the new campus. These images are part of the Furman University Historical Images digital collection.
- Greenville Woman's College Photos
The collection contains photographs of the Greenville Woman's College of Greenville, South Carolina. These images are part of the Furman University Historical Images digital collection.
Official Records
- Greenville County Public Records-pre 1985Deeds, Mortgages, Liens, Streets and Roads
- U.S.CensusPresents demographics, poverty levels; measures of education, income, housing, business and industry.
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.
Studies, Cases
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930Harvard University Open Collections. This collection concentrates heavily on the 19th century. Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Directories and Descriptions-Several from SCDL
- South Carolina Digital Library(SCDL)The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state.
- Greenville Textile Heritage SocietyThe Greenville Textile Heritage Society (GTHS) is an alliance of Textile Mill Villages located in the Upcountry of South Carolina, dedicated to the preservation and celebration of our rich Textile Heritage; and to the education of the general public as to the impact Textiles have played in the progress and development of Greenville and Upcountry South Carolina.
- Brandon Mill LedgerHandwritten and typescript ledger for Brandon Mill from incorporation in 1899 to 1928. Includes stockholder and board of director meeting minutes and names of stockholders.
Brandon Mill Ledger - Greenville City Directories- 1921 City Directory ScannedView the city and suburban directories from Greenville, South Carolina. The physical directories are held by the Greenville County Library System and the 1921 and 1965 Directories were scanned by Furman University.
- Twentieth Century Book-Vol. 1Search by keyword.
Description and travel
Typed promotional pamphlet for turn of the century Greenville including photographs, demographics, history, and descriptions of local businesses, institutions, and organizations.
Greenville Promotional Materials - McBee Sons & Company LedgerMcBee Sons & Company Store Ledger Book, 1846-1861
Ledger book from McBee Sons & Company general store. Located at Reedy River Factory at Conestee Lake. - South Carolina City DirectoriesUSC Digital Collections
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.