It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs for thousands of historical newspapers. Newspapers range from well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries includes 42 newspapers from South Carolina, 1,007 from North Carolina and 3 newspapers from Georgia.
The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
Provides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
Provides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
The CDNC is supported in part by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.
The World's Largest Historical Newspaper Archive.
2,650,653 Newspapers — 2,704 Newspaper Titles. Includes Chronicling America titles as well as titles in Australia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, and others in the United States.
The State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable. Many, but not all titles are included in Chronicling America
The Portal to Texas History operated by the UNT Libraries provides free online access to Texas historical materials to millions of users a year.
Hundreds of historical Texas newspapers are searchable here.
The Virginia Newspaper Project (VNP), established in 1993, has worked to locate, describe, inventory, preserve, and provide public access to United States imprint newspapers housed not only at the Library of Virginia but throughout the commonwealth.
Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
This title is now available through a new platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services. These digital newspapers were previously available through the subscription site ProQuest. Minnesota State Library Services’ contract with ProQuest expired in 2014 and the digital newspaper pages were transferred to the Minnesota Historical Society.
Provided by the LA84 Foundation. This Foundation funds youth sports in Southern California, trains coaches, and examines the role of sport in society. The foundation is the legacy of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.
The New Journal and Guide is a regional weekly newspaper based in Norfolk, Virginia, and serving the Hampton Roads area. The weekly focuses on local and national African-American news, sports, and issues and has been in circulation since 1900.