Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Grassroots Movements: Background Information
Background
Reliable, scholarly alternatives to Wikipedia...
- Credo ReferenceProvides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
- Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Sage Reference OnlineOnline versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.
Protest
Climate change protest, Copenhagen 2009
CREDIT
MATTHEW OLDFIELD/SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY / UIG
Rights Managed / For Educational Use Only
Why start with sources for background information?
The first stage of your research should include locating an overview of your topic. This can help you discover what interests you most about it and what you would be most excited about researching.
That way, you can narrow your book and article searches to the items most relevant to your interests. Reference sources (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) are the ideal starting point. They are filtered both in terms of quantity and in terms of quality, so they're concise and trustworthy - an excellent place to get that overview.
Select Websites
Select Sources
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and ConflictCall Number: Reference Collection ; HM886 .E53 1999, vols. 1-3Publication Date: 2008-01-01The 2nd edition of "Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict" provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral SciencesCall Number: Reference Collection ; H41 .I58 2001It comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismIn more than 1, 800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 12, 000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by For advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers, professors, clinicians, and other practitioners across such related disciplines as developmental psychology, criminology and criminal Justice, adolescent psychiatry, child and school psychology, family, and public health.
