Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Muslim Feminisms: Background Information
Background
Reliable, scholarly alternatives to Wikipedia...
- Credo ReferenceProvides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
- Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Sage Reference OnlineOnline versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.
[]
Why start with sources for background information?
The first stage of your research should include locating an overview of your topic. This can help you discover what interests you most about it and what you would be most excited about researching.
That way, you can narrow your book and article searches to the items most relevant to your interests. Reference sources (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) are the ideal starting point. They are filtered both in terms of quantity and in terms of quality, so they're concise and trustworthy - an excellent place to get that overview.
Select Sources
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Call Number: Reference Collection ; BP40 .E525 2004This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, SetCall Number: Reference Collection ; BL458 .E52 2006The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and WomenCall Number: ebookThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women provides clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam . It is based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and features hundreds of in-depth articles written by leading experts and is intended as a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.
Religion and American Cultures [3 Volumes]Call Number: Reference Collection ; BL2525 .R448 2003This three-volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interactions between religion and ethnicity, gender, regionalism, and popular culture.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of WomenCall Number: Reference Collection ; HQ1115 .R69 2000Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium.
