Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Samurai: Real and Imagined: Home
続々日本絵卷大成. 伝記緣起編
Search the Catalog (For both print and electonic books)
Primary Sources
Links provided here to primary sources, are predominantly from British and other Western books, newspaper articles, and notes from early visitors to Japan. While they give an interesting point of view of Samurai, they are not primary to Japanese culture.
- AM Explorer This database includes access to 100 Titles across 64 unique Primary Source Digital Collections from Adam Matthew. Topics range from Medical Services and Warfare to Shakespeare, from Victorian Popular Culture to Jewish Life in America.
- Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full Image Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
Welcome!
This is the research and resources page for your first year seminar, Samurai, Real and Imagined. It is a launching place for you to search for books, articles, and media to support your inquiry and writing. Please drop by the library or use my contact information on this page to get help with your research.
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Full content of the whole twenty years of the annual printed Bibliography of Asian Studies (from 1971–1991), plus citations for articles from 1992 to the present in more than 100 journals in the field of Asian studies. Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
- JSTOR JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
Background Resources
These encyclopedias and other quick resources are great for finding names, dates and short definitions and facts. Think of them as specialized, academic "Wikipedias".
A companion to Japanese historyCall Number: online
Outreach Librarian
Media
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications on television and film, as well as full text for more than 150 journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Communication Source Complete This resource offers information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
