Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Conflict and Its Transformation: Background Information
Conflict and its relationship to resource competition.
Background
Reliable, scholarly alternatives to Wikipedia...
- Credo ReferenceProvides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
- Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Sage Reference OnlineOnline versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.
Find More
Find more print and electronic encyclopedias through the library catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search.
Protest
Climate change protest, Copenhagen 2009
CREDIT
MATTHEW OLDFIELD/SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY / UIG
Rights Managed / For Educational Use Only
Need Statistics? Statista
- StatistaStatista is a data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. This resource offers over 1.5 million world-wide statistics along with forecasting on 500 areas from 41 countries for a period of 5 years. Working from more than 20,000 public and private reports, the information is prepared and vetted by a research team of more than 100 analysts in Hamburg, Germany.
Why start with sources for background information?
The first stage of your research should include locating an overview of your topic. This can help you discover what interests you most about it and what you would be most excited about researching.
That way, you can narrow your book and article searches to the items most relevant to your interests. Reference sources (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) are the ideal starting point. They are filtered both in terms of quantity and in terms of quality, so they're concise and trustworthy - an excellent place to get that overview.
Select Websites
- ECC Platform (Environment, Conflict, and Cooperation)A platform for exchange on environment, conflict, and cooperation (ECC) - aims to foster sustainable peace and development by gathering and disseminating knowledge. The platform seeks to create networks among stakeholders in the global environment, climate, foreign policy and security communities.
SEE - CASE STUDIES section, list or map view. - Ecological Threat Register - The Institute for Economics & Peace"2020 is the inaugural edition of the Ecological Threat Register (ETR), which covers 157 independent states and territories. The ETR is unique in that it combines measures of resilience with the most comprehensive ecological data available to shed light on the countries least likely to cope with extreme ecological shocks, now and into the future."
Select Sources
Dictionary of Conflict ResolutionCall Number: eBookThe first and only dictionary for the field of conflict resolution. Defining 1,400 terms, this comprehensive resource will standardize the language of conflict resolution--improving dialogue and understanding among professionals and theorist...
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food SystemsCall Number: eBookAddresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and ConflictCall Number: eBookThe 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life.
Handbook of Global Environmental PoliticsCall Number: eBookThe second edition of this Handbook contains more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
World at RiskCall Number: eBookArranged topically, the 32 essays address a wide range of key issues, including demographics, economics, education, health, politics, and security. New entries discuss drug trafficking, human trafficking, international finance, immigration, and transnational governance.
