LibGuides: FYW: This is Your Brain on Drugs: Find Articles

General Purpose Databases

General Purpose Databases cover lots of different disciplines. Results can include popular sources, such as newspapers and magazines, as well as scholarly journal articles, books, and more.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Readers’ Guide Full Text
Delivers comprehensive indexing of the most popular and important periodicals published, spanning from 1983 to the present.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Provides sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

Subject-Specific Databases

These databases cover just one or two closely related subjects. While the coverage is more limited than general purpose databases, they cover those areas more deeply. They include results for academic books, conference papers, and dissertations in addition to scholarly journals.

PubMed
The premier database for biomedical and health sciences literature. It also includes nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. This link includes the Furman Full Text button on records for full-text access.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier Psychology database. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Health & Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Web of Science

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.