LibGuides: FYW: Inside the White Cube: Find Articles

Is This Journal Peer-Reviewed?

UlrichsWeb
Provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types, including scholarly/trade/popular, peer-review status, and indexing.

Citation Finder

Using the bibliography of a relevant article is one of the best ways to find other relevant articles on your topic. The fulltext of the article may be available electronically in one of the library's many databases, or it may be available in one of our print collections. Follow the steps below to find your article:

1. Use the "Citation Finder" link on the Ejournals box and enter as much of your citation as you have.

Boyd, Willard L. "Museums as Centers of Controversy" Daedalus 128.3 (1999): 185.

2. Review the results for matches to your article and follow the links to the fulltext.

3. Problems?! Ask a librarian!

Select Subject-specific Databases

Grove Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Iincludes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations). Also includes images of the most frequently studied works of art.
More than 34 volumes in print.
Art Full Text
Features full-text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Art and Architecture Archive‎
Spans the spectrum of arts and the history of architecture, from fine and applied arts, through to interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration.
Coverage: 1895 - 2015
Artstor
Database consisting of more than one million images covering art, architecture and archeology. Collections can be searched as a whole or individually.
Made up of 10 distinct image collections: The Image Gallery; The Art History Survey Collection; The Illustrated Bartsch, The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection, The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; The Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection; Native American Art and Culture, National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution; and Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection.

General Subject Databases

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Readers’ Guide Full Text
Delivers comprehensive indexing of the most popular and important periodicals published, spanning from 1983 to the present.
JSTOR
A scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does NOT include the most recent five years.
19th Century to Five Years Ago

Select Newspaper Databases

News (Gale OneFile)
InfoTrac Newsstand is a full-text newspaper database. You can search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
Access World News Research Collection
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.

When searching newspaper databases, consider limiting your search terms to specific fields such as Document Title or Headline. A default keyword search will often yield too many hits.

e.g. Controvers* and exhibit* in Headline

Current News - Extensive Guide

Current News
A link to our Current News guide which includes access to hundreds of news sources.