It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
Also includes content from the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, and the African American National Biography.
American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Each entry traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Features over 2,700 illustrations, more than 80,000 cross-references, and links to select web sites.
Pulls together the research in this field to provide a building block of Black Women’s Studies. Includes women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge. Addresses the achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate.
Illuminates the lives of influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts.
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.
Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.
1851-2007 with a year added annually
Finding obituaries in newspapers
Many of our historical and current newspapers will have a specific search just for obituaries. Look for a link to an obituary search, or for a place to select "obituary" under document type. If the figure you are seeking is less known, many local community papers have databases with archival obituary searches.