Skip to Main Content

FYW: Way of Wisdom (Bibb): Background Information

Quick Tip

Look up your keywords in subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords for additional searches.  Keep an eye out for relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

Credo Reference: Religion & Theology

Credo Logo

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference

Advanced search

Selected Sources

Anchor Bible Dictionary
Ref BS440 .A54 1992
Volumes 1-12		 Entries cover every proper name, major words, each book of the Bible, Apocryphal texts and Dead Sea scrolls.
Encyclopaedia Judaica Online Online version of the 2nd edition of the Encyclopaedia Judaica. Includes complete content of all 22 volumes of the print version. Presents scholarship on historic topics as well as treatments of contemporary Jewish life, including added emphasis of the role of women and explorations of the full global scope of the Diaspora.
 
Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics
Ref BL31 .E4 1977
Volumes 1-13		 Covers all religions, ethical systems and movements; religious beliefs and customs; philosophical ideas; moral practices; related subjects in anthropology, mythology, folklore, biology, psychology, economics and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Religion This 2nd edition reflects changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Takes cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.Original print version covered 15 vols.   

The Oxford companion to the Bible
Ref  BS440 .M434 1993 
 

 Includes articles on all the books of the Bible--including the Apocrypha and many other ancient texts, such as the Dead Sea Scrolls, Pseudepigrapha, and the Mishrah.