LibGuides: FYW: The Mythology of Life and Death in the Works of Neil Gaiman: Background Information

Quick Tip

Look up your keywords in subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords for additional searches. Keep an eye out for relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

Find More

Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:

Films on Demand

Sometimes documentary-type films can have useful background information on a subject. Take note of keywords, trends, and ideas for additional research.

Title Segment

Selected Sources

Anchor Bible Dictionary BS440 .A54 1992 Volumes 1-12	Entries cover every proper name, major words, each book of the Bible, Apocryphal texts and Dead Sea scrolls.
Catholic Biblical Encyclopedia BS440 .C36 1959 Volumes 1-2	Articles include biographical, geographical, archaeological and dogmatic subjects.
A dictionary of African mythology BL2400 .S24 2000	Mythological figures and archetypes from oral and recorded traditions.
A dictionary of Asian mythology BL1005 .L46 2001	Major characters, revered deities, sacred places, key events, enduring themes, folklore, and traditions prevalent in the rich and varied fabric of Asian mythology and religion.
A Dictionary of British History	The people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.
	Comprehensive survey of Celtic mythology, legend, saga, and folklore.
Dictionary of Creation Myths	Ancient civilizations to modern times.
Dictionary of English Folklore GR141 .S59 2000	Folklore, legendary characters, superstitious traditions.
Dictionary of Superstitions Ref BF1775 .D53 1989	Covers the wide range of folk beliefs that have survived.
Encyclopedia of African American religions BR563 .N4 E53 1993	Articles on people, churches, schools and associations relating to African American religious life in the U.S. Two-thirds of 1200 entries are biographies. Detailed chronology beginning in 1618.
Encyclopedia of American religions BL2525 .M449 6th Ed. 1999	Comprehensive survey of over 2100 religious and spiritual groups in North America, providing historical perspective and current information.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism	Provides a comprehensive overview of Buddhism. Describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. Contains entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies. Explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism and Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience	Medical and belief-system information.
Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen BL1005 .l4813 1989	Presents basic terminology and doctrinal systems of the four main wisdom teachings of the East.
The encyclopedia of ghosts and spirits BF1461 .G85 1992	Four hundred entries arranged A-to-Z flesh out our beliefs about all that haunts.
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online	Online versions of the Encylopaedia of Islam, second and third editions. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, encompassing over 12,000 printed pages. Editing of the 3rd edition is ongoing.
Encyclopaedia Judaica Online	Online version of the 2nd edition of the Encyclopaedia Judaica. Includes complete content of all 22 volumes of the print version. Presents scholarship on historic topics as well as treatments of contemporary Jewish life, including added emphasis of the role of women and explorations of the full global scope of the Diaspora.
Encyclopedia of occultism & parapsychology BF1407 .E52 1991	This is a synthesis of two one-volume works: Fodor's Encyclopaedia of Psychic Science and Spence's Encyclopaedia of Occultism.
Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics BL31 .E4 1977 Volumes 1-13	Covers all religions, ethical systems and movements; religious beliefs and customs; philosophical ideas; moral practices; related subjects in anthropology, mythology, folklore, biology, psychology, economics and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Religion	This 2nd edition reflects changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Takes cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.Original print version covered 15 vols.
Encyclopedia of religion BL31 .E46 1986 Volumes 1-15	Treats theoretical, practical, and sociological aspects of religion. Extensive coverage of non-Western religions. Signed articles by over 1400 contributers worldwide.
The genealogy of Greek mythology BL785 .J36 2003	A stunning, fully illustrated and comprehensively annotated genealogical map of the universe of Greek myth, presented in a unique, easy-to-use format.
Giants, monsters, and dragons: an encyclopedia of folklore, legend, and myth GR825 .R67 2001	Contains supernatural being from mythology, legend, folklore, or classic literature.
Goddesses in world mythology BL473.5 .A66 1993	This excellent dictionary compiles information on 9500 female deities, deified women, female spirits, nymphs, and fairies.
Guide to the gods BL473 .L43 1992	Entries for deities throughout the world and in various time periods
Handbook of Hindu mythology BL1111.4 .W55 2003	Entries on "Characters, Themes, and Concepts" make up the bulk of the text. An appendix charts Vedic gods by periods as a handy guide to development of the Hindu pantheon. A summary of resources suggests readings at various levels.
Handbook of Norse mythology BL860 .L56 2001	302 comprehensive entries that consider the folk figures, deities, and concepts typically found in the myths and legends of Scandinavia, ranging from prehistoric tales to beliefs that remain embedded in contemporary culture.
The mythical zoo: an encyclopedia of animals in world myth, legend, and literature GR705 .S344 2001	References to literature from a variety of cultures and extensive illustrations ranging from medieval prints to cartoons and advertisements.
The Oxford Companion to British History	Covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day.
The Oxford companion to world mythology BL312 .L44 2005	Broad range of topics, including, gods and heroes; important scholars; texts; themes; and complete overviews of world mythology.
The Penguin encyclopedia of horror and the supernatural BF1407 .P46 1986