LibGuides: FYW: Disaster Literature: Primary Sources

Credit

MAGRATH PHOTOGRAPHY / SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY / Universal Images Group

Rights Managed / For Education Use Only

Letters, Official Records, Memoirs etc.

American Memory - Library of Congress (migrated collections)
American Memory - Library of Congress (remaining collections)
Albert Hunt eyewitness account Blizzard of 1888
Albert Hunt recalls the Great Blizzard of 1888 in Winsted Connecticut. He worked for Dowd Printing Co. on North Main Street. This interview was recorded in 1949
Special thanks to the Connecticut Historical Society for the photographs.
Willa Cather Archive
University of Nebraska site.
Immigration 1789-1930
Harvard Digital Collections
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.
Offical Records: War of the Rebellion
Making of America--Cornell University
Making of America
Making of America - Cornell

Subscription Databases

American Periodicals Series
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
1741 - 1900
US Congressional Serial Set Digital Collection
Provides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-Present. The Serial Set Digital Collection also provides full text access to the entire American State Papers series.
Ancestry Library Edition
Genealogical collection covering the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.
Includes approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.