Furman University home page
FYW: Wealth of Nations
Economics Databases
- Annual Reviews OnlineOnline access to authoritative, analytic reviews published by Annual Reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Limit search to specific disciplines e.g. Annual Reviews of Economics, Annual Reviews of Sociology
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete contains the full text of periodicals and other sources, including: peer-reviewed journals, trade journals & general business magazines, monographs, country economic reports, industry reports & yearbooks, and market research reports. The database covers a variety of disciplines related to all areas of business.
- EconLitCorresponds to Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, and covers journal articles, dissertations, chapters in books, conference proceedings and entire books.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
Data
- ICPSR DirectData sets from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Most data for retrospective data sets is also available via CD-ROM.
- PAIS InternationalCovers issues in public policy from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
Topical (Great resources, NOT necessarily peer-reviewed)
- CQ ResearcherGood place to begin research on current topics. Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Updated weekly.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)With information on today's hottest social issues, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and more.
- TOPICsearchCovers current events including social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a great database to start your search for scholarly articles. Produced by EBSCO, it is interdisciplinary and covers a broad range of subjects. In addition to indexing scholarly articles it also includes newspapers and some popular magazines. So you can get a lot of bang for your buck by starting here.
One of the best feature (IMHO) is the ability to pick and choose additional EBSCO databases to add to your search, either before or after you execute your search. One approach is to...
- Execute your search.
- Want to limit your articles search to:
Scholarly/ Peer-reviewed articles? - See limiters in left-hand column
Newspaper articles? - See limiters
Magazine articles? - See limiters
3. Want to adjust your search to include or specify articles from subject-specific databases? (e.g. - PsychInfo (Psychology), ERIC (Education), ATLA (Religion)
Click the "Choose Databases" link above the search box to open your choices.
Select from the list the additional or specific database(s) you want to search. Review your results
Another approach is to...
1. Choose to search ALL the Ebsco databases first by clicking the "Choose Databases" link above the search box to open your choices and Select All.
2. Execute your search.
3. Add your particular limiters (e.g. - Peer-reviewed)
4. Add the "Database" limiter (near the bottom) and click "Show more" to see the complete list
5. Select the database name you want to limit to. ( e.g. - Historical Abstracts, other)
6. Review your results.