Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: American Dream, Ideal and Reality: Find Articles
Finding "Mentor" Digital Essays
Use Academic Search Premier to search specific journals and magazines that will be rich sources of well-written essays.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Possible journals/magazines to try:
- The Atlantic
- The New Yorker
- American Prospect
- Rolling Stone
- New York Review of Books
Use Essay & General Literature Index to find essays in published books.
- Essay & General Literature Index Indexes "essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. 1985 to the present.
Suggested internet sites:
Scholarly Databases
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- MLA Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- ProQuest One Literature ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text.
- Literature Resource Center Provides access to Biography, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to the Scribner Writer's Series and Twayne World, Twayne US, and Twayne English Authors.
- America: History & Life Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Philosopher’s Index The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications on television and film, as well as full text for more than 150 journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
"Stepping Into The American Dream"
© Xavier Cortada. All Rights Reserved / Bridgeman Images, 2017.
Newspapers & Magazines of the Time
Find newspaper coverage from the time events of historical significance were happening.
Were these events consisdered important at the time? First page news or buried in the back of the paper?
Compare how these issues were addressed then and now.
Be aware that terms and vocabulary change over time. For example, Negro may be used instead of African American.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSimultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
- Congressional Service and Historical Indexes, 1789 - 1984Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.